FamilyAdventureHoneymoon Destination

The Seven Sisters of India: Exploring the Hidden Gems of the Northeast

The Seven Sisters of India: Exploring the Hidden Gems of the Northeast

India is a land of diverse cultures and traditions, and one of its lesser-known gems is the seven sister states in the Northeastern region. These states, also known as the “Seven Sisters of India,” consist of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura. These states share a unique geography, history, and culture that set them apart from the rest of the country. In this blog, we will explore who the seven sisters of India are, their history, culture, and the beauty they have to offer.

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh also known as the “land of the dawn-lit mountains,” is the easternmost state in India. It is home to a diverse range of tribes and cultures, and its terrain consists of lush green forests, snow-capped mountains, and beautiful valleys. The state’s cuisine includes dishes like bamboo shoot pickle, thukpa, and momos, which are a delicacy in the region.


Assam, known as the “Gateway to the Northeast,” is the most populous state in the region. It is known for its tea plantations, wildlife sanctuaries, and the Brahmaputra River. The state is home to the largest river island in the world, Majuli, and the famous Kaziranga National Park, which is home to the one-horned rhinoceros.


Manipur is the land of jewels, located in the heart of Northeast India. It is home to a vibrant culture, martial arts, and the famous Loktak Lake, which is the only floating lake in the world. The state is also famous for its unique and colorful festivals, including Lai Haraoba and Ningol Chakouba.


Meghalaya, known as the “abode of clouds,” is famous for its picturesque landscapes, waterfalls, and rolling hills. It is the wettest state in India, and its culture is a fusion of indigenous tribal and colonial influences. The state is known for its signature dish, Jadoh, which is a combination of rice and meat.


Mizoram, the land of the blue mountains, is one of the smallest states in India. It is home to a unique blend of cultures, including Mizo, Chakma, and Hmar. The state is famous for its handicrafts, music, and traditional bamboo dance. It is also home to the famous Phawngpui National Park, which is the highest peak in the region.


Nagaland, also known as the “land of festivals,” is home to several indigenous tribes, each with its unique culture and traditions. The state is famous for its Hornbill Festival, which celebrates the rich cultural heritage of Nagaland. The cuisine of Nagaland includes dishes like smoked pork with bamboo shoot and akhuni, which is fermented soya bean.


Tripura, known as the “land of temples,” is the third-smallest state in India. It is famous for its rich history, culture, and stunning landscapes. The state is home to the famous Tripura Sundari Temple, which is one of the 51 shakti peeths in India. The cuisine of Tripura is a fusion of Bengali and tribal influences, and dishes like chakwi and gudok are popular in the region.

The seven sisters of India are a hidden gem that deserves more attention. Each state has its own unique history, culture, and cuisine, making them a fascinating destination for anyone interested in exploring the diversity of India. It’s time to add the seven sisters of India to your travel bucket list and experience the magic for yourself.

In conclusion, the seven sisters of India are a unique and vibrant group of states that have their own distinct culture, history, and beauty. These states are often overlooked in mainstream tourism, but they offer a treasure trove of experiences for those willing to explore them. From the stunning landscapes of Meghalaya to the colorful festivals of Nagaland, there is something for everyone in the seven sisters of India.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button